Six Nations of the Grand River Community Profile | Job Postings | Departments | Maps | Lands | Home

(L-R) District #5 Councillor Bob R.E. Johnson, District #6 Councillor Melba Thomas, Brant MPP Dave Levac, Elected Chief G. Ava Hill, Brant MP Phil McColeman, District #4 Councillor Helen Miller, First Nations Engineering' Justin Gee, SNEC Senior Administrative Officer Dayle Bomberry, SNEC Director of Public Works Mike Montour

Six Nations of the Grand River to Receive Funding for Watermain

08/29/15 - Six Nations of the Grand River Territory will benefit from a watermain replacement in the main urban area of Ohsweken thanks to joint funding from the Governments of Canada and Ontario through the Small Communities Fund.

Chief Hill shares some opening comments:
This project will include the replacement and upgrade of sections of the watermain which are undersized and in poor condition as well as the associated road work in Ohsweken, to increase the capacity and reliability of the water distribution system. Once completed, these upgrades will enable Six Nations to meet the minimum fire protection requirements, which enhances community safety. These upgrades are also a critical step in empowering Six Nations with the ability to expand itsí water distribution system to the other 90% of what is the largest First Nation in Canada, in order to provide the entire Six Nations of the Grand River community with a safe and reliable supply of potable water.

Chief Hill shares more comments:

Director of Public Works Mike Montour shares his perspectives:

The $1-billion Small Communities Fund provides funding for priority public infrastructure projects that deliver on local needs. Canada and Ontario will each provide $272 million to support projects in communities across the province with fewer than 100,000 residents. This funding will help address local priorities, supporting job creation and economic growth, thus sustaining a high quality of life in small communities across Ontario for years to come.

Copyright © 2013 Six Nations Elected Council. Legal, trademark and privacy information.
Email Webmaster